Weekend Writer Warrior 1/4/14

The Weekend Writing Warriors blog hop is a weekly event in which writers are invited to share eight sentences from one of their works for other writers, readers and random bloggers to read, critique and comment on. Visit their site by clicking on the button below for a list of other participating writers and share the love! Today’s 8 comes from Pool, my current work-in-progress, in which I get back to my monster movie roots. Today’s snippet provides a little more local history about the mine Norah has inherited (and will be living in while she and her friends clean it up…all alone…miles from anywhere…). Enjoy!

wewriwa_square_4

“When I was a boy, they found a leg maybe five miles east of here. It was all black and shrunken in, but still wearing a beaded slipper and a pink garter. It had a tattoo on the ankle of a gold dollar, so they were able to identify it as belonging to Molly Dollar, one of the whores that worked the bar where you fine folks’ll be bedding down tonight.”

John uttered a terse, humorless laugh and said, “Ghost stories, really?”

“Take what you want from it, boy. No ghost left the toothmarks on that leg, though. No bear, either, in spite of what the state wanted us to say. Coroner was pretty sure those were left by a man.”

18 responses to “Weekend Writer Warrior 1/4/14

    • It’s easy for Norah and her friends to dismiss what they hear as “ghost stories,” but there are no ghosts in Pool. The things going bump in the night are very, very real.

    • Me too! I’m not what anyone would call a “caver”, but I love roaming around in the more touristy caves. Nature is capable of producing so many amazing structures that are never seen by the eyes of Man. And who doesn’t love poking around in abandoned buildings?

  1. I love it! Reading it was like seeing a scene from the teen slasher movies that I used to watch (Halloween, Friday the 13th, etc). I’m already imagining the part where I’ll say, “Don’t split up!” LOL I’m speculating on who’ll be the first to die after they hook up. LOL Sorry if I’m boxing you in – I know I should expect surprises from you. :o)

Leave a Reply

