Hump Day Hook 5/29/13

humpdayhook

 

Wow. I’ve been blogging for a whole week and it hasn’t killed me! So here I am again for the Hump Day Hook Hop, offering up a few paragraphs from the scene I’m editing in The Last Hour of Gann, in which Meoraq and Amber continue their journey to Xi’Matezh following a nasty winter storm…

* * *

“Why didn’t this place break apart too?” Amber asked in a small, shaky voice.

“Because we were in it.” He glanced behind him, only to see her still standing in the doorway. He sighed and reached out his hand. “We have never left His sight, Soft-Skin. We walk there still.”

She didn’t move.

“The under-levels are filled with dead people,” he reminded her.

She eased out half a step.

“And now the doors are broken open and they’re going to get wet.”

Her whole face puckered and she finished her approach in a clumsy leap. “I’m not scared of dead people!” she snapped, clutching at the back of his belt.

“I never said you were.”

“You implied it.”

“I did.”

13 responses to “Hump Day Hook 5/29/13

  1. Your teaser at the end of Cottonwood had me hooked. These tidbits are making me even more anxious. What happened to Amber’s sister? I cannot wait to read this book.

Leave a Reply

