Sneak Peek Sunday 6/2

Today’s Sneak Peek is from The Scholomance. This book was very cathartic to write, allowing me to confront a recurring nightmare that has plagued me for more than thirty years and trap it in a medium I can control. I had hoped that writing this book would destroy the dream forever. Sadly, this was not the case, but it did allow me to exorcise some demons (heh). For those who have never heard of it (or worse, those who’ve only heard of it by way of Warcraft), the Scholomance is a hidden school where magic is taught by the demons who dwell there, but there is a price: Anyone who reaches the door of the Scholomance may enter, but the Devil claims one out of every ten of those who try to leave. After Mara, a young woman born with telepathy, receives a desperate letter from her only friend, she enters the Scholomance, determined to find Connie and save her, only to become trapped, first by the Scholomance itself and then by the darkly alluring lord who rules there.

Sneak Peek Sunday is a weekly blog hop in which writers are challenged to post six paragraphs, no more and no less, from a published work or work in progress and then invite other writers, readers and random bloggers to read, critique and comment. Visit their site by clicking on the button below for a list of other participating writers and share the love!
Sneak Peek Sunday Banner
Mara turned toward him, not fast. He rose from his lazy crouch in the shadows just as slowly, as deliberately. The carving on the door had been a very good likeness after all. His skin was grey and rough even to look at, like living stone, raised and thick where the ivory spikes pierced through. His hair was black and very fine, and waved out behind him in the same breeze that moved the curtains. His eyes glowed green, just a little.

“Shall I disrobe?” he asked, indicating the ornate buckle of his plated belt.

“Disrobe?” Mara echoed, frowning.

“So I must assume, as thou hast come to my bedchamber.” He motioned, and true enough, there was a bed, crafted in a wide oval, with a stone lip all around and great bat-wings looming at its head.

Mara raised her eyebrows. “Do you sleep?” she wondered.

“Nay, not often,” the demon replied affably. “Yet I do fuck, and one must have one’s comforts.” He cocked his head, spreading his mouth in a wide, humorless smile. “Thou dost not flee, nor rebuke, nor submit to me. How curious. I suppose thou hast some request to make. Speak it.”

25 responses to “Sneak Peek Sunday 6/2

  1. Wow, terrific excerpt! The description of the demon’s appearance and attitude is sharp, visceral, and eerie. What intrigues me the most is that you had this dream for so many years… it has to be deeply meaningful. I once had such a dream, beginning with I was about 9 years old… and the only way to stop it was to consciously plan before going to sleep to change the events in the dream. It was strange… but one thing I can say, is that my whole life, to this day, has played out just like that childhood dream. I wish I had known how to create my life, just like I learned to change the dream!

    Excellent writing!

    • In my teens, I learned the techniques of lucid dreaming and that has given me a certain power over most of my dreams, but the Connie-dreams (as I call them) have always been immune to them. The sub-conscious wants what it wants, I guess.

  2. This is a demon I could get to like! The premise is excellent and the background of how you came to write it is intriguing. Sign me up, I’m hooked!

Leave a Reply

