Sunday Sneak Peek 6/15

Sneak Peek Sunday is a weekly blog hop in which writers are challenged to post six paragraphs, no more and no less, from a published work or work in progress and then invite other writers, readers and random bloggers to read, critique and comment. Visit their site by clicking on the button below for a list of other participating writers and share the love!

Sneak Peek Sunday Banner

Sizzling Summer and Bad Boys collide at the halfway mark in June and to celebrate this momentous intersection, I have compiled a super-sized snippet from Heat! Today’s six paragraphs sets up a scene which will continue in tomorrow’s Weekend Writer Warrior 8-Sentence Snippet, and then conclude on Monday with some Summer Sizzle to salute the Bad Boys of Romance Giveaway Hop on its final day before starting the Hot and Deadly Hop on June 20th! Remember that if you want to enter any or all of my corresponding giveaways, YOU MUST TELL ME SO when you leave a comment, and also leave a viable email address so I can contact you if you win! A drawing will be held on June 18th, June 25th, and July 1st. The prize for each drawing is a free ecopy of one of my books, the title of the winner’s choice, including the upcoming The Last Hour of Gann, which should be available at the end of summer! Good luck to everyone!

Today’s Sneak Peek begins in a hotel room, where Raven, fearing she has become replaceable during her temporary indisposition, attempts to win back Kane’s favor…

* * * * *

“When I am done,” Raven interrupted. “When I’m all the way done, will you let me…let me…” Her nerve was failing. Heat crawled and burned in her cheeks. She didn’t know what she was saying, and he was going to see right through her anyway. But he was gazing at her again, unblinking and horribly aware of her, and she had to say something. “Will you let me do things?” she asked, her voice cracking. “Things that I want?”

His head cocked, his features scored with surprise. She’d caught him off-guard and that had to count for something. Clearly, he’d thought she was going to ask him to get rid of the competition.

Kane stared at her, his thoughts unspooling hidden behind his shark-black eyes. Finally, he folded down the monitor and closed his pack, resting his hands atop it. “Things,” he echoed. “Such as?”

She couldn’t stop now, or he’d know for sure she’d been trying something.

Raven stood up and went to the foot of the bed. “Things,” she said, crawling cautiously onto the mattress.

Kane pushed his pack to one side, freeing the broad field of his chest for her to climb, and she obliged him, touching her lips to his warm flesh as she moved up his body. She could taste him, the clean male sweat of him, and it was not an unpleasant sensation. When she placed her hand over the alien place his heart beat, she realized she really had missed him.

* * * * *

Don’t forget to tune in tomorrow, True Believers, to read the next eight sentences in tomorrow’s WeWriWa snippet!

7 responses to “Sunday Sneak Peek 6/15

  1. May I please have another entry? I really want to read Last Hour of Gann, the teaser snippets you’ve been posting have only made the craving for the new book that much worse, lol.

      • Oh yes, it’s definitely meant as a compliment! Your writing always sucks me in, I have to be careful about starting one of your books late in the evening or I’ll be reading and then three hours later come up for air and realize I’ve completely blown my chance at a full nights sleep, not that they aren’t worth a little missed rest but it’s not always a good thing to go through the next day as a sleep deprived zombie.

  2. Where did you come up with the name ‘Raven’? Great snippet. Please enter me in the draw for The Last Hour of Gaan. Thanks.

    • I realize this is going to be the least helpful answer you could ever imagine, but as soon as I “saw” her, I knew her name. It works like that sometimes. And sometimes I spend hours poring through a baby name book.

  3. Even though I have read Heat the snippets you gave us got my imagination going. “Will you let me do things? Things that I want?” Wow. I can’t wait to see where your imagination goes in The Last Hour of Gann. May I have an entry?

Leave a Reply

