Weekend Writer Warriors 6/23

The Weekend Writing Warriors blog hop is a weekly event in which writers are invited to share eight sentences from one of their works for other writers, readers and random bloggers to read, critique and comment on. Visit their site by clicking on the button below for a list of other participating writers and share the love!

wewriwa_square_4

Because I am a terrible procrastinator, I am in my room packing for the trip I should have been out the door taking ten minutes ago rather than reading painstakingly through my books for just the right eight lines to use for today’s snippet. Instead, I will be posting the eight lines that immediately follow where the Sunday Sneak Peek left off (which itself immediately follows where the Hump Day Hook left off). I hope you all like it because that’s what I got for you today. If you want to tell me what a perfectly incompetent blogger I am, please leave a comment in the comment section and while you’re there, you can enter one of my giveaways! There will be a drawing on June 25th and another on July 1st to commemorate the Hot and Deadly Blog Hop and the Sizzling Summer Reads Blog Hop (check them out in my sidebar! They are awesome!), and the prize will be a free ecopy of one of my books, the title of the winner’s choice, including the book all these lazy snippets are from, The Last Hour of Gann! Just be sure to leave a viable email address so I can contact you if you win and remember that because all my books contain graphic sex and violence, you MUST TELL ME you wish to enter the giveaway. Thanks for stopping by and enjoy the rest of the Weekend Writer Warriors!

* * * * *

‘I take back my thought about your perfect choke,’ he thought peevishly, and breathed again. ‘I should be unconscious now.’ He struggled to scrape up a better insult, but there was nothing in dumaqi good enough. ‘You suck,’ he thought finally, savagely. ‘Lizard.’

In the midst of the grass before him, a single gray blade began to bleed in green. Color, coming back into the world. He breathed.

“I probably should have waited until we were closer,” the boy mused, circling. “Not sure how I’m going to move your body sixteen spans to the camp, but I probably don’t need the whole thing.”

 

15 responses to “Weekend Writer Warriors 6/23

  1. “I probably should have waited until we were closer,”
    Haha, yes that’s the sort of thing best thought of beforehand. Also the part where you check your prey is actually dead. Lucky for Meoraq the kid missed those lessons. Will there be more of this scene as snippets? Though I suppose it may be equally good stopped here, it’s a nice point to leave off, waiting to see what develops. And may I have an entry please?

    I’m curious, about how long will Last Hour be? Just a ballpark would be great. One of the things I really like about your books is the length -aside from all the other good points- I love how long I can stay submerged in the story without running out of pages, lol.

    • It’s about as long as Olivia was…700 pages and some change. Hilariously, when I was first sitting down to write Gann, I was worried that it wasn’t going to be long enough to qualify as a “real” book. Naturally, it turned into the longest single book I’ve written so far.

      You are entered!

      • Yay, excellent news! I definitely like the longer ones. Do you mind if I ask another question? You mentioned in an earlier bog post that you had written a number of other stories before starting to self publish and kept them in a “Finished” folder on your computer, do you have any plans to release any of those at some point? Given how much I loved the stuff you’ve published, I’m a little curious about the other stories you’ve written.

      • Of the four or five novels, there’s only one that I keep bringing out and staring at. The others are ten years old or older and bringing them “up to date” is more work than I like to think about. Then there’s the vast collection of fan fiction which I can never publish (probably for the best, lol). And finally there are a number of short stories which will surely see the light of the published day at some point, yeah. In particular, there’s a few novellas which began as cut scenes from the Arcadia series (and some people think I never cut anything!), which will probably be released in the next year or two.

        I know there are a lot of people who can chunk out a book in ninety days, but I’m not one of them. It takes me about six months to write a book, then I put it up for a few months and work on something else so that when I come back, I can edit it more aggressively. So one finished book a year is about average for me. This year, I plan to publish The Last Hour of Gann (at the end of summer), finish the next project, Pool, and start work on the NEXT project, The Bull of Minos. Inbetween, I’m sure I’ll write five or six short stories and maybe throw together an anthology. Plus, I beta for other authors and I’m helping my father get his very first novel ready for publication (I’m so proud of him, I can hardly live with myself), and on top of that, Life Happens.

      • Sorry I didn’t respond sooner, that Life Happens things definitely a familiar concept. :/
        The anthology sounds like a great idea, I know I’d be excited to read some of your shorter fiction. And I’m very happy to hear that Gann will be nice and substantial. As for prolific-ness (not a word but I can’t for the life of me think of the right one) I was looking at your books on goodreads before I asked the question and thinking that given how long and complex your books are you’d put out new work at a really good pace. One a year sounds quite respectable to me, especially since I’ve got authors I read who, if you’re lucky, release one every five years or so. I’d rather have quality over quantity anyway, good books have reread value after all. And your’s definitely work as rereads.

  2. I really am excited for The Last Hour of Gann! All of the snippets are good and hysterical make me want the book more.

    I would love to Enter the contest to win an copy of the Last Hour of Gaan . Thank you for the chance to win a copy at all!

Leave a Reply

