Hump Day Hook 8/7

Hump Day Hook is a weekly blog hop where writers are invited to hook readers with just a few paragraphs from a work in progress or published work. Visit their site by clicking on the button below for a list of other participating writers and share the love!

humpdayhook

Today’s Hook continues the scene in the kitchen between Amber Bierce and her sister, Nicci. Feel free to catch up if you’re just joining me, and don’t forget to leave a comment if you want to enter my Gann Giveaway! One lucky winner will be drawn just as soon as I’m ready for the book to go live. You can keep an eye on my progress with the Work-In-Progress widget in the sidebar. Just remember that, like all my books, The Last Hour of Gann contains graphic violence and strong sexual content, so if you want to enter the drawing, you have to tell me so each and every time you leave a comment. Thanks for reading!

The Last Hour of Gann_ARE

“When we get there, the ship lands and becomes like the staging area for the colony. We’ll be building the colony up around it—farms and stuff, I guess—but civilians like me won’t be responsible for much. I guess it’ll be pretty hard work, but it’s only supposed to be a six-hour shift, which is less than I’m working now. I got one of their silver civilian contracts, which means five years—Earth years, that is, and it doesn’t include the transport time. They’re going to pay me twenty thousand dollars a year, plus five thousand just for being a fertile female of childbearing age.”

Nicci looked up, her tears hitching to a brief stop in her throat. “W-what?”

“Plus another ten thousand for every kid I have while I’m there, but I’m not having any. I told them that, and they said that was my decision, but I still have to take my implant out before I go. They won’t pay for that, but they do pay for a full medical exam and I’ll get all my shots so I’m clean to go. By a doctor,” she added. “Not some insurance company’s medico. Plus, I’ll get the Vaccine.”

13 responses to “Hump Day Hook 8/7

  1. I haven’t been keeping up on the hooks as I should have. I’m going back and read what I’ve missed! This is GOOD! In the mean time, may I have an entry?

  2. Less work, more money, exciting new place to live – sounds great. Where do I sign up? Please may I have another entry? Thank you.

    • Largely untested spaceship, extremely unforgiving space, unexplored and potentially hostile new planet, backbreaking labor, and five years before the next bus home. But yeah, lots of money, so…sign me up too.

      Another entry for Pat!

  3. That’s quite the sales pitch she got from the Manifestors. Of course those are usually about 80% bullshit and exaggeration, so it’ll be interesting to see what the reality turns out to be.
    May I have another entry please?

    • Cottonwood and The Last Hour of Gann were written as “sister stories”, paralleling each other in a number of ways. Kate A. Fowler from Cottonwood is Amber Katherine Bierce from Last Hour, just like Nicci S. Bierce is Sarah Nichole Fowler in Cottonwood. Their characters are extremely similar: Kate/Amber is the tough, bossy one who insists she knows best and Sarah/Nicci is the softer one who never seems to have the necessary set of skills for the situation at hand. Their paths just went a slightly different way. So my real-life little sister got to be the heroine of Cottonwood and ride off into space with her bug. I got knocked off.

      You are entered!

  4. I thought I commented yesterday. I must not have pressed “post comments” on my ipad. My comment was much like Rue’s. But today, im thinking about Heat. How many words are in Heat? I want to have a sense for comparison. By the way, I really like your books. You must have guessed that because I’m following your blog, but its always nice to say the words.

Leave a Reply

