Weekend Writer Warrior 8/10

The Weekend Writing Warriors blog hop is a weekly event in which writers are invited to share eight sentences from one of their works for other writers, readers and random bloggers to read, critique and comment on. Visit their site by clicking on the button below for a list of other participating writers and share the love!

wewriwa_square_4

Today’s WeWriWa is from The Last Hour of Gann, picking up where Wednesday’s Hump Day Hook left off and continuing with tomorrow’s Sunday Sneak Peek. Feel free to catch up if you’re just joining me, and don’t forget to leave a comment if you want to enter my Gann Giveaway! One lucky winner will be drawn just as soon as I’m ready for the book to go live. You can keep an eye on my progress with the Work-In-Progress widget in the sidebar. Just remember that, like all my books, The Last Hour of Gann contains graphic violence and strong sexual content, so if you want to enter the drawing, you have to tell me so each and every time you leave a comment. Thanks for reading!

The Last Hour of Gann_ARE

Not a vaccine. The Vaccine. And even Nicci, who obviously tried so hard to understand as little as she possibly could, knew what that was. Because before the Director had been the leader of a bunch of space-happy freaks, he’d been a doctor, and much as he would like to say that his greatest contribution to humanity was the ship that would carry the first colonists to another world (and he said that a lot), he would probably always be known best for the Vaccine, which worked itself all the way down into your DNA and made it so you could never get sick again. Here on Earth, people paid hundreds of thousands of dollars to endure the agonizing year-long process while the Vaccine was introduced, but the Director was just giving them all away to his happy little colonists, who’d get them painlessly in their Sleepers, which was the perfect application process, according to the brochure. No more worrying about that niggling little 14% failure rate or the greatly exaggerated reports of the birth defects caused by genetic drift. They’d just wake up, secure in the knowledge that now they were cured for life of every possible virus—of the flu, of HIV, of whatever alien illness might be crawling around on Plymouth. Of everything.

15 responses to “Weekend Writer Warrior 8/10

  1. The Vaccine, a lifetime cure for all illnesses, painfree, 86% success rate and free! That is quite an inducement. However, very few things in this world are free. I adopted a “free” cat one time. It was the most expensive, free pet I have ever had. the Director is sounding more and more…sinister. Please allow me an entry.

    • Tell me about it. A week before I moved two thousand miles to live with my sister (we were actually on our way to pick up the U-Haul), we found a cat lying in the road in front of our house after being hit by a car. We thought it was dead, but it lifted its head as we were driving by, so we stopped everything and took it to the emergency vet, who put it back together (and who charged us for nothing but its medication). It had a crushed pelvis and badly broken jaw and road rash in its eyes to the extent that it eventually went blind. We were told that he would never walk or be able to feed himself, but here we are, three years later, and here he sits on my foot right now. Being blind doesn’t slow him down much (except when we rearranged the living room; that really messed him up), he walks just fine (albeit with a limp) and manages to eat soft food on his own (he’s a tremendously picky eater, in fact). Free cats, right? You always get more than you bargained for.

      Oh, and you are entered!

      • What a wonderful story! In your case, I think you got a wonderful, furry friend and he got a savior. Sometimes the adage about free is relative because friends – even furry ones – can be priceless.

  2. I’m thinking about that vaccine. If it was available as described today, would I want it? I wouldn’t. That 14% failure rate is just too high for me. Maybe I’m a cup half empty kind of girl, but that is too risky. What about the other of you who are reading this. Would you get the vaccine if it was as described in today’s blog?

    • Well…I for one probably would. Especially if it was delivered over five years of Sleep, where the risk of failure is greatly diminished. I’m just not sure I’d pay for it and I know I wouldn’t sign up to be in the first wave of the Director’s colonists, so I’m not sure how I’d get it.

    • Mary, I probably would if I had no intention of every having children. I might play around with my own life but I would not risk my child’s. However, the snippet said 14% failure rate not mortality rate so even If the Vaccine failed you would be no worse off than if you hadn’t taken it. It would be nice to know I didn’t ever have to worry about disease ever again.

  3. Mary- I can’t decide if I’d be willing to take the Vaccine I think I’d ultimately have say no to it, but it’d be as much not being able to afford it as anything else. While I would love to see another planet, I don’t want to sign up for that guy’s particular colonization scheme, so no free needle jabs for me. Probably means I’d be outta luck.

    R. Lee Smith- May I have an entry please?

Leave a Reply

