Weekend Writer Warrior 8/17

If you’re looking for my Hot Summer Heroes post for HD Thomson’s blog hop, you can find it here!

The Weekend Writing Warriors blog hop is a weekly event in which writers are invited to share eight sentences from one of their works for other writers, readers and random bloggers to read, critique and comment on. Visit their site by clicking on the button below for a list of other participating writers and share the love!
wewriwa_square_4

Today’s snippet concludes the scene in the kitchen between Amber and Nicci (and because it concludes it in only seven sentences, I went back and repeated a sentence from last week.) Tomorrow, I skip ahead about fifty pages and start a new scene with Meoraq. Don’t forget to enter the Gann Giveaway for a chance to win a free ecopy of the book! I’m plugging right along on those edits!

* * *

Good news, everyone! (Fifty points to you if you read that in Professor Farnsworth’s voice.) Some time ago, I signed up with an indie publisher to help me get my book out there in formats that confound me, and she has just informed me that as of today, all my books are now available on Barnes and Noble’s NOOK! Starting tomorrow, she will begin the laborious and thankless task of submitting the books to Kobo, ARE and the Apple store as well, so now when I say the Gann Giveaway will award a free ecopy of my book, I don’t just mean for the Kindle! Just be aware that after submitting to Apple, it may still be six weeks before the book makes it through their hellish screening process in order that I not end up in adult-filter purgatory.

The Last Hour of Gann_ARE

She looked at herself in the bathroom mirror and saw a big (fat) unsmiling (mean-eyed) stranger (bitch) who’d bullied her only living relative on the day of their mother’s funeral.

“It had to be said,” whispered Amber. She rinsed her mouth and washed her face and put her hair up. “Sometimes you just have to say the bad stuff.”

She went on out past weeping Nicci and off to work like it didn’t matter. In a way, it didn’t. They simply didn’t have any choice.

 

14 responses to “Weekend Writer Warrior 8/17

  1. Reality bites sometimes. Thanks for those seven powerful sentences. And, congratulations on your multi-format offerings. I hope many more people discover your great writing and the fabulous places you take us to. Please allow me an entry.

    • I hope more people discover me too, because I’ve learned that I like having money and I would like to have more of it. Goodness knows, I was writing long before I got paid for it, and if the money stopped tomorrow, the stories would go on, but I do like paying my bills.

      You are entered!

  2. Congratulations on branching out to other formats! I hope it draws in lots of new readers on the other devices.

    May I have an entry please?

  3. 96% now, we’ll done, please let us know if we can order it in advance anywhere. Please may I have another entry? Thank you.

    • I don’t even know how to set something like that up. All I have in terms of advance orders is a notebook next to my computer with a list of contest winners. But you may have another entry and with luck, your name will soon be on it!

  4. Absolutely – sometimes the bad words have to be said! I love your passion for writing, how the stories would keep coming – paid or unpaid – but it’s nice to pay the bills…. I wish you the best!

  5. Pingback: #8Sunday WEEKEND WRITING WARRIORS JUL. 6/14

Leave a Reply

