Weekend Writer Warrior 8/25

If you’re looking for my Hot Heroes post for HD Thomson’s blog hop, you can find it here.

Today’s WeWriWa is from The Last Hour of Gann, picking up where Wednesday’s Hump Day Hook left off and continuing with tomorrow’s Sunday Sneak Peek. Feel free to catch up if you’re just joining me, and don’t forget to leave a comment if you want to enter my Gann Giveaway! One lucky winner will be drawn just as soon as I’m ready for the book to go live. You can keep an eye on my progress with the Work-In-Progress widget in the sidebar. Just remember that, like all my books, The Last Hour of Gann contains graphic violence and strong sexual content, so if you want to enter the drawing, you have to tell me so each and every time you leave a comment. Thanks for reading!

wewriwa_square_4

“How far away would you say the fire burns?” asked the abbot.

It was a fair question. Meoraq was one of perhaps a hundred men in Xheoth this night who had ever been beyond the city’s walls. To speak in measurements of distance had only the most abstract meaning to most citizens, but this man had surely made pilgrimages in the past to be in a position of such authority now and so Meoraq considered the question fairly.

“The shadow of the Stepped Rise falls before it,” he said at last, “and is not illuminated by it. It could not be less than thirty spans.”

The other man grunted thoughtfully. “To see a flame at thirty spans…What city lies in that direction?”

18 responses to “Weekend Writer Warrior 8/25

  1. Final edit and already 9%, with your last little snippet I am so looking forward to getting my hands on this one! Please may I have yet another entry? Thanks

    • Oddly, the fire doesn’t seem to be moving. Besides which, it has begun to rain heavily. And on top of that, the people of this world would have no means of putting out a major fire. They’d be safer just hunkering down behind their walls and letting it burn out around them. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Nice thought to toss in–that city-bound people would only have ‘measure’ of small things. When your world is bound by something like city walls, you’d think in a certain way for sure.

  3. Once you have finished with Gann and it’s published are you thinking of keeping this sort of blogging schedule? Or will you cut back while you work on other books? I have to admit to considerable curiosity about Pool.
    You’ve mentioned movies, both horror and scifi a number of times here on the blog and in your books, any plans to talk movies? because that would be neat.

    And, may I have an entry please?

    • I’ll probably cut back, although I will be posting little snippets from Pool as I work on it to torture you. Just you, Rue.

      I’ve been approached by another author to do a whole month’s worth of little posts on the subject of writing during November for National Novel Writer’s Month, to which I stupidly said yes before I stopped to realize that meant I’d have to write a whole month’s worth of interesting little posts on the same subject. I’m sure as time goes by, I’ll find other little things to bitch about and this sure makes a handy soapbox.

      Another entry for Rue!

Leave a Reply

