Hump Day Hook 9/18

Hump Day Hook is a weekly blog hop where writers are invited to hook readers with just a few paragraphs from a work in progress or published work. Visit their site by clicking on the button below for a list of other participating writers and share the love! Today’s Hook comes yet again from The Last Hour of Gann, continuing Sunday’s Sneak Peek and continuing on Saturday’s Weekend Writer Warrior! Thanks for reading and enjoy the hop!

humpdayhook

Hello from the road! I’ve got good news and bad news for all my readers. The good news, as some of you already know, is that Amazon fixed whatever needed fixing and The Last Hour of Gann finally acquired a buy button. So all my Gann Giveaway winners should have their free copies by now! If not, please let me know.

The bad news is on the Barnes and Noble front. I was told today that the cover image is the wrong size (the exact same size I sent Amazon, btw), so I have to resubmit it, or rather, my sister’s husband has to resubmit it, because I’m a thousand miles from home. So I’m working on it, but there’s only so much I can do from here.

And now, on to today’s Hook!

The Last Hour of Gann_ARE

Meoraq gave the door a glance, wishing it would be miraculously filled by a priest who would know better how to handle this. It remained shut. The woman before him continued to stare at the floor between her bare feet, even as silent tears welled in her eyes. He was Sheulek, a true son of Sheul, and he had felt His touch and heard His voice all his life, but for the sake of that same life, he could not think of a thing to say to her.

“We are all tested in our time,” he said at last and immediately regretted it. It was precisely the sort of lame and obvious non-answer that priests liked to give and which Meoraq himself had always found simply infuriating.

But she only brushed at her eyes and made a quiet sound of wordless acceptance. Living here, no doubt she’d heard such answers too many times to be moved by them any longer.

“Forgive me, honored one,” she said, sinking to her knees. “I have delayed you with a foolish woman’s unhappiness. Go your way in the sight of Sheul, I pray, and good journey to you.”

The Last Hour of Gann_ARE

5 responses to “Hump Day Hook 9/18

  1. I’m going on vacation in 3 weeks and so far, I’m planning on waiting to read it then. If I start now, work + house stuff will most likely suffer. Thanks for the feedback Pat. Sooooo, looking forward to another R Lee Smith book.

  2. I echo CGirl’s sentiments. I think I will wait until I go on vacation to read it so I can give it my FULL attention. Plus, waiting will build my anticipation. I do love to torture myself. Heehee. Thank you for the hook and I hope your vacation is going well. I will close with your words,
    “Go your way in the sight of Sheul, I pray, and good journey to you.”

Leave a Reply

