Hump Day Hook 10/9

Hump Day Hook is a weekly blog hop where writers are invited to hook readers with just a few paragraphs from a work in progress or published work. Visit their site by clicking on the button below for a list of other participating writers and share the love! Today’s Hook is the very last snippet from The Last Hour of Gann. I hope you enjoyed reading along. I guess all my snippets from now on will have to be bits and pieces of whatever I happen to be working on that day. It’s been fun!

humpdayhook

“Uyane Meoraq of Xeqor,” he said, making a final adjustment to the many straps of his packs. “A Sword of Sheul. Challenge me or cry surrender.”

“I cry,” the watchman said, wiping rain from his face, and, the last formalities dealt with, added, “First rain of the season is treacherous enough without flying thunder and fiery towers. So good journey to you, honored one, but mind your footing as you go. A man can see a thousand miraculous things in his life and still be washed away by one bad turn on a stretch of bad road.”

Good advice. Meoraq raised him a brother’s hand in farewell and walked on as the gate of Xheoth slammed behind him and all the empty world of Gann waited in darkness for the dawn.

17 responses to “Hump Day Hook 10/9

  1. Finished The Last Hour of Gann this morning. I don’t want to let the story go. I don’t want to pick up another book. I read about 300 books a year, have dozens of stories I gush over, but none have resonated with me the way this one has. You have a skill that challenges the greatest writers. Oh gawd, I’m gushing. Congratulations. Consider me eternally enthralled.

    Few can achieve the masterpiece you created with Gann. This IS the best book I’ve ever read with the greatest H/h in literary romance.

  2. Welcome home! I am so glad the surgery went well. I finished The Last Hour of Gann during a marathon reading session (whew) and loved it. You were right, it is long. But, I loved every minute of it. Thanks for the sneak peak you gave us of your next novel, Pool. I am already intrigued.

  3. SOOO Happy to see you back! Glad the surgery went well and I hope your recovery goes smoothly. I was telling msdebms this morning that I am reluctant to start anything new because nothing seems to entertain me when I’m on that, “I just finished an R Lee book!” high. Gann was, incredible and Meoraq has replaced Kane in my #1 BadGuysILove spot. Although, (whisper) he really isn’t bad, is he? 🙂

    Welcome home!

  4. I’m glad you’re back and hope you are recovering quickly. I loved it. I am totally talking it up on the blogs I follow. I got you some new readers too. I am buying The Last Hour of Gann for my sister and my niece for Christmas. Besides writing an exciting tale, you are a word artist. You paint a picture and make excellent word choices which result in lines that say with me, that I think about all day.

  5. Hey! Last Hour of Gann is featured on Smexy Books website’s top 10 for the week! She says Twitter is all abuzz about your book! Yea! Free advertising. And I want everyone to read (and love) your book.

  6. I lost an entire night of sleep to stay up to finish The Last Hour of Gann. Your writing is truly inspirational. I just left you a review on Amazon and plan on telling everyone I know to read it. I haven’t felt this way about a book since I read Pat Rothfuss’s Name of the Wind. Looking forward to reading more from you.

Leave a Reply

