Hump Day Hook 10/23

Hump Day Hook is a weekly blog hop where writers are invited to hook readers with just a few paragraphs from a work in progress or published work. Visit their site by clicking on the button below for a list of other participating writers and share the love!

humpdayhook

 

Hi all! I’m on the road again and away from my computer. I forgot to preset this post for publication, so now I have nothing from Pool to post today. In it’s place, please enjoy this poem I wrote.

* * *

This cup could have once held anything

But someone picked it up

And filled it full of coffee

So it became a coffee cup.

The coffee cup then came to me

And naturally I drank it.

It never once occurred to me that

I should ever thank it

For holding what I couldn’t touch

With my pink and fragile hands

And providing me with sustenance

As I travel ‘cross this land.

No, once that I had drunk my fill,

In an thoughtless act quite rash,

I tossed this cup into the street

Where it became a piece of trash.

And there it lay for many weeks,

Beaten down by wind and rain

And ‘tho it was most sore abused

It never once complained.

At last a prison crew appeared

To clean the cup away.

They sent it to a landfill

Where it remains to this day.

For all its fortitude and drive

When its little time was up

The world moved on and I quite forgot

My morning coffee’s cup.

So if there is a lesson

To this cautionary tale

It’s that no one will remember you

So go ahead and fail!

* * *

I’m really very sorry for that. I’ll have more from Pool next week, I promise. Please enjoy the rest of the hop, where real writers have real snippets. And by the way, I would never actually throw my trash in the street.

3 responses to “Hump Day Hook 10/23

Leave a Reply

