Weekend Writer Warrior 10/26

Well, I’m back home again after that unexpected diversion to New York, just in time for WeWriWa! The Weekend Writing Warriors blog hop is a weekly event in which writers
are invited to share eight sentences from one of their works for other writers, readers and random bloggers to read, critique and comment on. Visit their site by clicking on the button below for a list of other participating writers and share the love! Today’s 8 comes from Pool, my current work-in-progress (I have got to update my WIP bar one of these days). I didn’t get as much writing done on the trip as I would have liked, owing to all the driving, but what I did do, I have to share! We join our story as the heroine and her friends are exploring the first of the buildings in the abandoned mining camp she has inherited…

wewriwa_square_4

 

“Anything wet they all took with ‘em a hundred years ago,” Kyson replied, pulling up some of the bottles one by one to read the labels, “but some of this shit is pretty wild all on its own. We got…Satan’s Spit…El Cuerno des Diablo…and a little Liver-Eating Brew. I thought it was just the cartoons that gave ‘em names like that.”

“People’ll pay for even the empties if they’re cool. Hey, check this out.” Hayley reached into the crate and came out with a tarnished lump of metal in a peculiar almost-familiar shape.

“What’s that?” Kyson asked, taking it from her.

“Someone’s fake teeth,” Hayley replied, and Kyson hurriedly put it down and wiped his hand several times on his shirt-front.

6 responses to “Weekend Writer Warrior 10/26

  1. Oh, even if I didn’t have some vague idea what’s the story about, reading this gives me this feeling of impending doom for characters. You just know something bad is going to happen and it waits behind a corner. 🙂
    Thank you for sharing, my interest was picked the moment I read “back to basic horror roots” comment.

Leave a Reply

