Sunday Sneak Peek 1/19

Sneak Peek Sunday is a weekly blog hop in which writers are challenged to post six paragraphs, no more and no less, from a published work or work in progress and then invite other writers, readers and random bloggers to read, critique and comment. Visit their site by clicking on the button below for a list of other participating writers and share the love! Today’s Sneak Peek is from Pool, continuing the scene I left off after yesterday’s WeWriWa and continuing until the scene ends, I guess. Why mess with a good thing?

Sneak Peek Sunday Banner

            Norah drew back, surprised and a little hurt, since she had been listening in fascination and without any sign, she was sure, of doubt.

“Even Hodel’s own son ran away,” the girl was saying, and paused to give Norah an imperious sniff. “I guess that’s who you got the land from and all. And then, one day…I don’t remember which exact day it was, but you can look it up in the records if you don’t believe me…everyone disappeared.”

“How?”

“No one knows,” said the younger one.

“No one does,” the older girl agreed. “Hodel used to send his flunkies down here for stock for his company store once a week, and when the week went out and no one came down, folks got curious. They got some white guys to go on up there and check things out, and when they got there, they found the whole camp empty. Iperainnarpok.”

“But tore up,” said the young one.

6 responses to “Sunday Sneak Peek 1/19

    • About 120 pages…not as far as I should be, but I’ve got a lot of other things on my plate right now, not the least of which is that I’m trying to bash out a novella at the same time. I know I need to trim down and focus on just one thing, but which one gets my attention and which three get ignored?

      • Hey, all of life is a balance. For me, your writing is a pleasure and my relaxation. For you, it’s work…and hopefully a pleasure too. Family, friends, fun, and work. You need it all. Don’t let us pressure you to work more than what is comfortable for you.

      • It’s work, all right, but it’s a weird work. I was writing before I ever got paid for it, and if I stopped publishing tomorrow, I’d probably still write. But I am feeling a bit stretched thin and I know I’m going to have to put Pool on the back burner while I work on The Land of the Beautiful Dead. I’m going to the RT Convention in…when is that? May…? and I want to bring some signed copies of something for the Freebie Room, but I don’t want to give away a 400 page novel. The Beautiful Dead should run less than 100k words, so it would be perfect, but that means getting it done, edited, and printed in the next few months, all while having a life. So…yeah.

  1. LOL, 100k is a novella for R Lee. Can’t wait to read another book. Can you give us a little synopsis of The Land of the Beautiful Dead?

Leave a Reply

