My Father’s Book is Live!

It’s official! My father has self-published the first of a planned three-book series, The Children of Omm: The Unmaking of the Worm, by M. Francis Smith. He also had a birthday last week, and to celebrate, I decided to run an author’s spotlight on him and his first book! Then, thus decided, I let a week go by without doing anything, because I am a horrible blogger, a horrible child and a horrible person in general.

But enough procrastination (for now)! Beginning tomorrow, I will be posting the first chapter (in installments) so that you can all see what my father’s first attempt at any kind of fiction in his fricking life looks like. Even if I were not his child, I would think that was impressive and I think you will too, once you read it. In the meantime, please enjoy his blurb (none of us in this family can write a good blurb, so be kind) and a peek at his cover. I offered him the services of my cover artist, who put together a number of pretty spanking amazing designs, but my father had a specific image in mind, so he designed it himself. He’s proud of it.

In fact, let me say that again: HE’S PROUD OF IT. And he deserves to be proud of this book. He’s going to be reading the comments once the chapter starts running, so, and let me make this very clear, CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISM ONLY. He’s taken a lot of shit from the people who are supposed to love and encourage him over the fact that he’s even writing. He let people tell him for FIFTY YEARS that it was something he ‘didn’t need to do’ and therefore shouldn’t, especially since there were other people in the family who were ‘actually talented’ and he already had ‘a real job’. And I’m sorry if I’m getting a bit salty over this, but I can take a little criticism. I know it comes from a good place and (hopefully) the sincere desire to see me improve and succeed. He, on the other hand, has had fifty years of people telling him to stop and passing it off as ‘good intentions’ and I don’t want to see anyone on this site giving him shit over the cover he designed.

Thank you all for your understanding.

So! With that out of the way, please enjoy the blurb to my father’s first novel, The Children of Omm: The Unmaking of the Worm, by M. Francis Smith! Now available!

dadsbook

 

With the gift of avoine and priests brew, powerful narcotics of his own devising, Baaloth the Worm, creature of the Rebel God and self-proclaimed god of Men, launches his attack even as an Elven Talisman from the mists of the world’s making sets the pieces in motion for worldwide conflict. It falls to brothers, Nori and Nate (lost heirs to the throne of the world’s kingdoms suddenly gifted with mysterious and unpredictable powers) to find and master this talisman of power before Man’s subjection can be completed.

From their home in Sheep Haven at the feet of the Dwarf Mountains to the Citadel of the mythic Diguenmol, now home of the greatest Adept of Elven Magic, Mithraelyn, and through the many-splendored halls of the Dwarf kings to the vaults of Baaloth’s Archbishop, Sapristi, in Columns Keep, the boys and their companions seek it, followed closely behind by the last of the creation banes, the Dragon, Death.

Yet, the closer they get to their goal, the more perilous the hunt becomes. Can they find the Talisman and learn to use it before Baaloth or his Dragon can destroy them, plunging all of the races of Man into a night of eternal darkness?

6 responses to “My Father’s Book is Live!

  1. I found the book earlier this week, thanks to your sisters for confirming. I have already purchased it and it’s my next read. Can’t wait to read another ‘Smith’ authored book.

    • Thank you so much for your support! If you liked it, please don’t forget to leave a rating and review. The greatest obstacle to a self-published author is marketing and many of the tools just aren’t available to those of us who work outside the publishing houses. A book that gets ratings and reviews is far and away more likely to receive consideration for purchase by other readers than one that is not.

      This speech probably should have been presented as its own spotlight blog post, but whatever. People read comments, right?

      Anyway, thank you so much for supporting him.

  2. Congratulations, Mr. Smith!. I wish you much success with your first book baby. Embrace those that support you. Ignore the naysayers. And, write, write, write. William Faulkner said,
    “You cannot swim for new horizons until you have courage to lose sight of the shore.”
    Congratulations on getting your feet wet.

  3. Congrats to your father on his release! I just purchased it and I can’t wait to read it. I’m sure my husband will also be very interested in reading. Lots of luck to you! And never, ever, EVER let anyone tell you what you can not do! If it’s something you enjoy, something you love, do it! There will always be naysayers.

    • This is true. In the words of Florence Foster Jenkins, an opera singer whose voice was infamously awful: “People may say that I cannot sing, but no one can say that I didn’t.” Throughout her life, she remained defiantly active in the opera scene and despite much (and frankly, deserved) criticism, she never allowed her detractors to dissuade her from her love of singing. Her enthusiasm won her all the fame her talent couldn’t; at her final performance, at the age of 76, she sold out Carnegie Hall.

Leave a Reply

