Wednesday Writer’s Corner

Ignore that little voice in the back of your head telling you it’s Thursday. A writer, like a wizard, is never late. Nor is he early. He posts on his blog precisely when he intends to.

gandalf1

NERRRRRRRD!

Normally, this is where I’d give you all a damn good excuse, like a storm knocked out the internet or it was my night on zombie watch or something, but the truth is, I just didn’t do it. I didn’t even forget. I straight up didn’t do it. Bad me. No biscuit.

The fact is, one of my favorite cousins flew in to visit over the weekend and everything sort of came to a halt while we all group-hugged for three days. I feel I’m safe saying she’s among my favorites cousins. Most of my other cousins are devout Mormons and, as such, are unlikely to be reading this. You have to love your family; you do not have to follow their blogs. And thank God, really, because enough of them already suspect I’m going to hell without ever reading one of my books or the many, many inhuman sex scenes recorded therein. But I digress.

My cousin came to visit and at first, we all assured each other that that visit would not interfere with anyone’s writing schedule. “I can entertain myself,” she told us. “You just do what you got to do and I’ll play with these kittens.” And we all laughed and laughed because we knew NO ONE FLIES HALFWAY ACROSS THE COUNTRY TO WATCH NETFLIX IN A GUEST ROOM WHILE YOUR COUSINS TYPE ON THEIR COMPUTERS IN ANOTHER ROOM. DUH.

So yeah. The sharp-eyed among you may have noticed the WIP widget in the sidebar over yonder hasn’t budged in a few days and that would be the reason. It’s not an excuse. I made a conscious decision to spend time with my family instead of fulfilling my NaNoWriMo quota and I stand by that decision. However! My cousin went home Tuesday and yesterday was Wednesday and I neither wrote nor blogged, and that was also a conscious decision. Honestly, it would be wrong even to apologize, since I’m not sorry. Bad me.

The punishment is especially harsh because I love biscuits.

The punishment is especially harsh because I love biscuits.

I’ve written before about the writer’s work ethic. I like to think I’m not a hypocrite, but the facts speak for themselves at times like these. However, I’m not going to talk about that again today, except to say I fell off the horse, but I’m back on it now and riding at full gallop. Look for that WIP widget to start moving again later tonight.

Before it turned into a confession crossed with a lecture on accountability, this post was going to be about characters–about OCs in fanfiction in general and my EIAR characters in particular–but as I say, I did not prepare, so that will have to wait until next Wednesday’s post, when I’ll hopefully be more on the ball. In the meantime, I hope all my fellow NaNoWriMo Writers are doing well and getting those words out. We’re over the middle-mark now, folks!

2 responses to “Wednesday Writer’s Corner

  1. I was having a really bad day and then I realised I get to read a new chapter of your fanfic and it made my day. So thank you in advance for turning my bad day into a good one.

    • Yup, I just barely uploaded the new chapter. Glad you’re enjoying it, because I’m having the most fun I’ve ever had writing a book, and I thought nothing could beat Scholomance. I’m not quite egomaniacal enough to think a new chapter can make a bad day all better, but hopefully I at least helped take your mind off it for a while. And I sincerely hope tomorrow is better for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

